regions of†Arabia between†622 -†cca†1000†C.E.

back to Asia

back to Regions of Medieval Europe

all these regions in Arabia are very artificial. In reality there were no clear borders between regions. Generally medieval Arabia could be divided into 6 main regions: Hijaz, Yemen, Najd, Hadramawt, Oman ('Uman) and Bahrayn.

The territories you can see above are based on territories of Arab herding tribes and oases in the times around the Hijra. Each territory represents area where the herding tribe was herding and is named after the most important oase or city (in Hijaz) of the area.

... more to come soon...


- BRICE, William - An Historical Atlas of Islam, Leiden 1981

- KENNEDY, Hugh - An Historical Atlas of Islam, Leiden 2002

comments and dicsussion